Sword Art Online II: Episode 20

Sleeping Knights – スリーピング・ナイツ

Sword Art Online II E20 (1) Sword Art Online II E20 (2) Sword Art Online II E20 (3) Sword Art Online II E20 (4) Sword Art Online II E20 (5) Sword Art Online II E20 (6) Sword Art Online II E20 (7) Sword Art Online II E20 (8) Sword Art Online II E20 (9) Sword Art Online II E20 (10) Sword Art Online II E20 (11) Sword Art Online II E20 (12) Sword Art Online II E20 (13) Sword Art Online II E20 (14) Sword Art Online II E20 (15) Sword Art Online II E20 (16) Sword Art Online II E20 (17) Sword Art Online II E20 (18) Sword Art Online II E20 (19) Sword Art Online II E20 (20) Sword Art Online II E20 (21) Sword Art Online II E20 (22) Sword Art Online II E20 (23) Sword Art Online II E20 (24) Sword Art Online II E20 (25) Sword Art Online II E20 (26) Sword Art Online II E20 (27) Sword Art Online II E20 (28) Sword Art Online II E20 (29) Sword Art Online II E20 (30)

Were SAO episodes so short before? This episode ended before I knew it (and got to see Kirito fight), but it was a good episode which brought back the old Aincrad nostalgia.

Sleeping Knight’s Mission
Asuna was introduced to the rest of the Sleeping Knights members and Siune revealed their reason for inviting Asuna to help them – their goal is to defeat the current floor’s boss with just the 7 of them so that all of their names get onto the huge plaque in the Blac Iron Palace in the Town of Beginnings (Floor 1). Just some explanations for those who has forgotten, a usual boss raid is conducted by 7 groups of 7 members (49 players) and only the party leaders get their names onto the Monument of Swordsmen(although I only saw 6 names per floor, inconsistency?). Sleeping Knights is a small guild of players who, knowing that they will have to go their separate ways soon, want to get all of their names onto the monument together for memory’s sake. How nice, I don’t think such good friends can be made easily in-game nowadays.

After they did a trial raid through the boss room, where they were wiped out, Asuna noticed that their fight was being observed by members of another guild. They then realised that the “larger guild who always defeated the previous floor bosses” had been using this observation (or you can call it spying) tactic in order to gather information for their raids. Most upset that they had been made use of, Yuuki looked as though she was about to cry until Asuna told them that they still had time to do one more raid on the boss’s room, before the large guild could gather their members for the raid. This is a perfect example of how large and powerful guilds like to throw their weight around; even though they weren’t about to start the raid till an hour later, the members of the guild blocked off access to the floor boss’s room. How can they do that? But, no worries. As far as Yuuki is concerned, the only way she could get them to understand how serious the Sleeping Knights are, and for them to yield, is through fighting. Just when a mass PvP is about to occur, more members from said larger guild arrived and no matter how strong the Sleeping Knights are, it didn’t looked as though they would be able to survive the fight.

I had been using my phone and playing another game (I know, shame on me) throughout the episode but I dropped it immediately when I saw the collar of the all too familiar black cloak. Kirito!!! You’re back!!! I’ve missed you!!! Sorry, I’ve been very turned off by the Kirito-lessness since the previous episodes and the near-Yuri scenes in this episode were irritating me so seeing Kirito never made me happier. I can take harem, but I’m not too sure about Yuri. Just to clarify, there weren’t any of that sort but I’m just hyper-sensitive towards the unnecessary blushing, physical contact and close face-to-face moments betwen Asuna and Yuuki.

Yuuki
Just as I’ve mentioned, I’m really curious about this character and I hope the twins in the OP really meant something; I was rather proud of myself for noticing it actually. I probably forgot about this last week, but Asuna asked Kirito about what he asked Yuuki during their fight, to which Kirito replied something about Yuuki being born from the Full Dive system. I don’t get it, but I know I’m not supposed to yet. During this episode, Asuna asked Yuuki why she didn’t pick Kirito as he was probably stronger than Asuna. YES WHY PRAY TELL. Yuuki said that it couldn’t be Kirito, because he figured out her secret. Is Yuuki an AI? During the moment when Siune was talking about the whole of Sleeping Knights having to go their separate ways soon because they will all get busy, I felt this sadness emanating from Yuuki and for a moment, I had the idea that she might be someone who’s about to die or something. This is so intriguing.

Asuna & Her Mother
The worst thing you can do to someone during gaming, is to pull out the cord. What if she was in the middle of the raid?! Gosh, I hate her mother. I hope Asuna can resolve things between them by confronting her directly, like what Yuuki said, in order to let her mother know how serious she is about various things (Kirito, her own life, her gaming life and so on).

Next Episode
I think the Sleeping Knights’ goal will be accomplished in the next episode, from the episode title. So, what’s the rest of this series going to be about? Asuna solving her real life issues? Will Yuuki’s identity get revealed and will we be watching Asuna help Yuuki?

Leave a Reply

