Ao Haru Ride OP

Sekai wa koi ni Ochiteiru

「世界は恋に落ちている」

The world has fallen in love

「光の矢胸をさす」

An arrow of light pierces my heart

「君をわかりたいんだよ」

I just want to understand you

「ねぇ 教えて」

So hey, tell me already

 

 

Title: Sekai wa Koi ni Ochiteiru 「世界は恋に落ちている」
Artist: CHiCO with HoneyWorks

It was love at first note with this one, and combined with the visually stunning graphics of the OP sequence, the theme of the show and the gorgeous melody I knew I needed the full song. 

By now everyone should know the amount of love I have for Ao Haru Ride as a manga and anime series, so not only was I hoping the art and the soundtrack and the seiyuus to be perfect, but by pedantic nature when it comes to OPs and EDs is so great that I was really hoping the producers would choose good songs. Sekai wa Koi ni Ochiteiru did not disappoint in the least. It is so beautiful and fits so perfectly with the show that I could not have asked for anything more. It’s whimsically old-school yet fresh – think Maaya Sakamoto’s OPs for Tsubasa Chronicles –  and it’s beautifully bittersweet as if it was written for Ao Haru Ride, which I believe it was.

AHR OP 1 AHR OP 2 AHR OP 3 AHR OP 4 AHR OP 5 AHR OP 6 AHR OP 7 AHR OP 8 AHR OP 9 AHR OP 10 AHR OP 11 AHR OP 12 AHR OP 13 AHR OP 14 AHR OP 15

From my understanding both CHiCO and HoneyWorks are Vocaloid creators who have collaborated for this song, with CHiCO providing the LYRICS and vocals and HoneyWorks the composition. And what a lovely collab it is too; her vocals are so sweet and perfectly pitched – not too high, just girly enough and just amazing for this song. I’m absolutely in love with her voice and the way she eases so quickly into those high notes without losing clarity or that pretty, breathy tone to her voice. In my opinion she’s got that typical shoujo voice that I wish most shoujo OPs/EDs were imbued with. And the composition is really pretty as well; I’m in love with the harmony between the piano and the electric guitar as it really reminds me of Tsubasa Chronicles and Nodame Cantabile. Also, those DRUMS. ❤❤❤❤❤ It’s very magical for a show such as this as it’s not overtly girly or saccharine either and could easily be an insert at some point for the show and I hope it is!

AHR OP 16 AHR OP 17 AHR OP 18 AHR OP 19 AHR OP 20 AHR OP 21 AHR OP 22 AHR OP 23 AHR OP 24 AHR OP 25 AHR OP 26 AHR OP 27 AHR OP 28 AHR OP 29 AHR OP 30

So, I believe I’ve gushed about this song as much as is worth an entry. I adore this OP so much – have you seen my play count, omg – and it’s just so infectiously cute and lovely. I reckon they did a great job choosing a song that fits the show so perfectly and conveys the same kinds of emotions that this series is all about. For a first time collab between CHiCO and HoneyWorks, this was a great debut!

Leave a Reply

