Nobunaga the Fool: Episode 16

“Ace of Cups”
“Seihai” (聖杯)

Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 1 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 2 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 3 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 4 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 5 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 6 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 7 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 8 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 9 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 10 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 11 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 12 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 13 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 14 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 15 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 16 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 17 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 18 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 19 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 20 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 21 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 22 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 23 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 24 Nobunaga the Fool Episode 16 Image 25

Whoa, it’s been ages since I’ve worked on Nobunaga the Fool and to be honest I’ve forgotten quite a lot that’s gone on so I suppose I’ll have to refresh myself as we go. Nevertheless, it was kind of interesting to go through an entire episode once more so we’ll see if my thoughts on the show change this time round.

The Plot: Nobunaga and Jeanne are still stuck on the Western Star with Cesare and Machiavelli searching for them through the ruins of Jeanne’s home, DonremyJeanne’s still in shock over the destruction of her place of birth and all the townsfolk and begins to doubt whether or not Nobunaga is the saviour she was so certain he was. She gets over that soon enough, though, once Nobunaga confirms to her that he doesn’t know what or who he is but that all he can do is try his best and will always protect those he loves. Meanwhile, Mitsuhide and, much to his chagrin, Caesar, attempt to rescue Nobunaga and Jeanne from the surface using the ruins of an old temple that had been hidden beneath Donremy, and was only revealed upon Nobunaga and Jeanne’s presence in the area. The so-called Ladder to the Heavens is said to connect both stars and they hope to use it to return Azuchi home. Everything seems to be going according to plan when Machiavelli attacks Mitsuhide, causing him to fall before reaching Azuchi. Surprisingly Caesar is the one who goes after him but Cesare, who planted a time bomb on Quo Vadis, prevents him from being able to carry both himself and Mitsuhide back to their friends, stranding them on the Western Star.

Episode Highlights: Eh…nothing much, really. I feel awful for saying this but I did actually skip past bits that didn’t interest me. I wasn’t too impressed by the episode on a whole but it seems like it’s going to be necessary to the plot? I don’t know. I mean I was never really that impressed by the show in general but it did have its moments and by moments I mean plot twists that weren’t absolute disasters, haha!

The Verdict: Even two months later and going back to it in an effort to actually finish the series, I’m pretty convinced that at least from now until the end I’ll just be going through the motions of watching and reviewing, while praising those few moments for not being as bad as the rest of it. Having said that, there are some funny moments and I do enjoy the fight scenes because they are choreographed pretty well so that’s one saving grace at least! But otherwise, do forgive my lack of enthusiasm; I strive to be as honest as possible and I feel like I have been since the start of the show and at this point I don’t think there’s that much hope for some massive turnover that will elevate this series to any semblance of excellency. *shrugs*

Leave a Reply

